Bigger menu icons in XFCE

One of the many things I loved about GNOME 2 was the “foot” menu. Its bigger icons made it look somehow more user friendly and uncluttered. At least to me :)

Since I switched to XFCE, I have been wondering if the same could be achieved with the XFCE menu. Finally, I came across this discussion. So, I opened ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xsettings.xml and changes the line that contains:

<property name="IconSizes" type="empty"/>

as follows:

<property name="IconSizes" type="string" value="gtk-menu=16,16:gtk-button=16,16:panel-applications-menu=22,22:panel-directory-menu=22,22"/>

I logged out and in and the menus look great! The whole modified file (XFCE 4.10) looks like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<channel name="xsettings" version="1.0">
  <property name="Net" type="empty">
    <property name="ThemeName" type="string" value="MurrinaGilouche"/>
    <property name="IconThemeName" type="string" value="gnome-brave"/>
    <property name="DoubleClickTime" type="empty"/>
    <property name="DoubleClickDistance" type="empty"/>
    <property name="DndDragThreshold" type="empty"/>
    <property name="CursorBlink" type="empty"/>
    <property name="CursorBlinkTime" type="empty"/>
    <property name="SoundThemeName" type="empty"/>
    <property name="EnableEventSounds" type="empty"/>
    <property name="EnableInputFeedbackSounds" type="empty"/>
  </property>
  <property name="Gtk" type="empty">
    <property name="CanChangeAccels" type="empty"/>
    <property name="ColorPalette" type="empty"/>
    <property name="FontName" type="string" value="Verdana 8"/>
    <property name="IconSizes" type="string" value="gtk-menu=16,16:gtk-button=16,16:panel-applications-menu=22,22:panel-directory-menu=22,22"/>
    <property name="KeyThemeName" type="empty"/>
    <property name="ToolbarStyle" type="empty"/>
    <property name="ToolbarIconSize" type="empty"/>
    <property name="MenuImages" type="empty"/>
    <property name="ButtonImages" type="empty"/>
    <property name="MenuBarAccel" type="empty"/>
    <property name="CursorThemeName" type="string" value="PolarCursorTheme-Blue"/>
    <property name="CursorThemeSize" type="empty"/>
  </property>
  <property name="Xft" type="empty">
    <property name="Antialias" type="int" value="1"/>
    <property name="HintStyle" type="string" value="hintfull"/>
  </property>
</channel>

7 Comments on “Bigger menu icons in XFCE”

  1. Anonymous says:

    your xml element ends with ‘>’ when it should end with ‘/>’.

  2. slackalaxy says:

    thanks for the correction!

  3. itz4fm says:

    There is no xsettings.xml file in .config on my Xubuntu 16.04? install but then I tried right clicking on the “Whisker Menu” or the mouse icon on the top left hand corner of the screen and there I found drop-down menus in the Properties sub-menu for ” Item icon size; ” & ” Category icon size: “

  4. itz4fm says:

    My comment applies to Xfce Desktop Environment , Version 4.12 supplied by Xubuntu.

  5. slackalaxy says:

    Hello,
    I use Slackware (14.2 at the moment) with Xfce 4.12. I have a file ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/xsettings.xml

    I do not know how the situation is with Xubuntu, since I do not use it. Also, my post is about the traditional (aka windows 95-like) menu, not Whisker.

  6. […] menu which reverts to the menu from 4.10. In Xfce 4.10, the icons in the menu could be made bigger. This functionality is gone in Xfce 4.12, so I wanted to bring it back. The patch is not applied by […]

  7. […] menu, which works pretty well at 24×24). To do these things, I set bigger menu icons, as before. However, I further modified the “IconSizes” row in, as […]


Leave a comment